About Richard

Richard Scarsbrook is the author of ten books of fiction and poetry, including the adult novels The Troupers, The Indifference League, and The Monkeyface Chronicles, which won the 2011 OLA White Pine Award. His short stories and poems have also appeared in The Guardian, The Los Angeles Times, Descant, Existere, Prairie Fire, and NeWest Review, amongst many others. He has served as Writer in Residence for the Toronto District School Board, and the Orangeville, Richmond Hill, and Toronto Public Libraries. He also teaches creative writing at George Brown and Humber Colleges.

Richard Scarsbrook is a Canadian Writer, Teacher, and Entertainer. He grew up in the tiny rural crossroads of Olinda, Ontario, and earned an Honours BA in History from Western University and a Bachelor of Education degree from the University of Ottawa. He has called Toronto home for over twenty years.

Scarsbrook is the author of ten books: the novels The Troupers, Rockets Versus Gravity, The Indifference League, Nothing Man and The Purple Zero, The Monkeyface Chronicles, Featherless Bipeds, and Cheeseburger Subversive. the short story collection Destiny’s Telescope, and the poetry collections Six Weeks and Apocalypse One Hundred. Two more novels are on the way: The Girl Who Could Not Die, and Speedway Cinema. He has also published stories and poems in nearly one hundred magazines, journals, and anthologies.

Richard’s books have been short-listed for the CLA Book of the Year Award (twice), the Stellar Book Prize, and ReLit Award, and the OLA White Pine Award (twice), which he won in 2011 for The Monkeyface Chronicles. His poetry chapbook Guessing at Madeline won the 1997 Cranberry Tree Press Poetry Chapbook Competition. He has also won the Matrix LitPop Award, the Hinterland Award for Prose, the Lawrence House Centre for the Arts Short Story Competition, the New Orphic Short Story Prize, the Scarborough Arts Council Poetry Competition, and has been a finalist for the Exile/Vanderbilt Short Story Prize, the Seán Ó Faoláin Short Story Prize, the Fish Short Story Prize, and the New Century Writer Awards.

After teaching high school for several years, performing roles onstage such as Mr. Toad in Toad of Toad Hall, Gratiano in The Merchant of Venice, Scrooge in A Christmas Carol, and Jonathan Brewster in Arsenic and Old Lace, and playing in the bands The Know, The Nerve, and Featherless Bipeds, Scarsbrook now teaches creative writing at George Brown College and the Humber School for Writers. He makes frequent appearances at festivals and in schools and libraries, sharing his passion for writing and helping hundreds of novice writers improve their craft. He has served as Writer in Residence for the Toronto Public Library, the Toronto District Board of Education, the Richmond Hill Public Library, and the Orangeville Public Library. In 2011, Scarsbrook also served as a juror for the Governor General’s Literary Awards.

Scarsbrook is currently moving into the screenwriting business, and his first produced screenplay, Royal Blood, was an official selection at many international film festivals; it won Best Short Film at the TIFF-associated Milton Film Festival, and its North American Pay TV Rights have been purchased by the ShortsTV Channel. Scarsbrook has written screenplays and pilots based on his award-winning books, which are currently available. His TV Pilot The Monkeyface Chronicles was a finalist for the CFC/EOne Television Adaptation Lab, and his screenplays have been performing well in major screenwriting competitions, including ScreenCraft, PAGE, Slamdance, and Final Draft Big Break.

Awards & Honours


WINNER – Gold Award, Best Local Author
The Toronto Star Reader’s Choice Awards, 2020

WINNER – Best Short Film, Allegra Audience Choice Award, Milton Film Festival, 2019
“Royal Blood”

WINNER – White Pine Award, 2011 Ontario Library Association
“The Monkeyface Chronicles”

WINNER – Matrix LitPop Award 2009

WINNER – 2002 Lawrence House Centre for the Arts Short Story Competition
“The Twilight Girl”

WINNER – New Orphic Short Story Contest, 2001
“Sky and Earth”

WINNER – Scarborough Arts Council’s 2001 Poetry Competition
“Stop” and “High Diver”

WINNER – Backwater Review’s 1998 Hinterland Award for Prose
“Benjamin’s Aliens”

WINNER – Cranberry Tree Press Poetry Chapbook Competition, 1998
“Guessing at Madeline”

FINALIST – CFC / EOne Television Adaptation Lab, 2016
“The Monkeyface Chronicles”

FINALIST – 2013 Descant/Winston Collins Prize for Best Canadian Poem

FINALIST – Canadian Library Association’s 2006 Young Adult Book Award
“Featherless Bipeds”

FINALIST – Ontario Library Association’s 2005 White Pine Award
“Cheeseburger Subversive”

FINALIST – Canadian Library Association’s 2004 Young Adult Book Award
“Cheeseburger Subversive”

FINALIST – 2005 Stellar Book Award
“Cheeseburger Subversive”

SEMIFINALIST (Top 10%) – Screencraft Screenwriting Fellowship, 2018
“The Monkeyface Chronicles”

SEMIFINALIST (Top 10%) – ScreenCraft Drama Screenplay Competition, 2018
“The Indifference League”

QUARTERFINALIST – Final Draft Big Break Screenwriting Competition, 2020
“The Girl Who Could Not Die”

QUARTERFINALIST PAGE – International Screenwriting Competition, 2020
“The Girl Who Could Not Die”

QUARTERFINALIST – Screencraft Pilot Launch TV Script Competition, 2018
“The Monkeyface Chronicles”

SHORT-LISTED – 2015 Bath Flash Fiction Award
“Emergency Broadcast System” and “Blaze of Glory”

SHORT-LISTED – 2014 Seán Ó Faoláin Short Story Competition (Ireland)

SHORT-LISTED – 2012 Exile/Vanderbilt Short Story Prize
The Statistician”

SHORT-LISTED – 2009 Seán Ó Faoláin Short Story Competition (Ireland)
“The Statistician”

SHORT-LISTED – 2007 ReLit Award
“Destiny’s Telescope”

HONOURABLE MENTION – Fish Publishing 2010 Competition (Ireland)
“The Third Ring”

LONG-LISTED – 2016 Colm Tóibín International Short Story Award (Ireland)
“Cold Water”

LONG-LISTED – 2015 Short Fiction Prize

SECOND PRIZE – 2004 Toronto Poetry Competition

SECOND PRIZE – The New Century Writer Awards, 2002, Poetry Category

SECOND PRIZE – The New Century Writer Awards, 1999
“Tristan’s Quarter”

SECOND PRIZE – 1998 Zygote “Dark of Winter” Poetry Contest